Turmeric chicken and satay sauce

I wanted to post this yesterday but wordpress wouldn’t let me.  Apparently I should write my blog in word then copy any paste over so I don’t lose it four times! You would of thought I’d learn the first time it went wrong –  I didn’t and continued to make the same mistake again and again. I’m a pleb. Is that even a word?

Since my car died I’ve had to get the train to work, in fact two trains. It’s a nightmare. I hate First Capital Connect and as it’s snowing I know my train will be cancelled on the way home tonight. If I miss Crossfit or circuit training tonight I’ll be extremely upset. I also nearly got run over today walking from the train station. It was a friggin green man for god sake. A massive lorry jumped a red light and all I could think was if I got hit what underwear do I have on. SHAME. FYI it was decent so I would have been fine.

13.5 of the crossfit games has just been released. I’m going to name it Franmare! Thrusters and chest to bar pull ups. This is really going to show my crossfit weaknesses. I’m hoping for around 45 reps.

I made this chicken on Monday for the girls – my two housemates, it always goes down a treat so I thought I’d share. This one’s for you Kelly! (my pretend veggie friend) since she found out she was pregnant she’s fallen of the wagon. A veggie for 17 years that has succumbed to eating pig and most recently a duck – not a whole one, but still. Just waiting for her to eat chicken.

photo-1

Turmeric chicken with satay sauce – makes about 8 skewers
Prep time: 1h 15 mins
Cooking time: 25 mins

Turmeric chicken

3 large chicken breasts diced
3 cloves of garlic
50g shallots finely diced
1 tablespoon of turmeric
1 teaspoon of dried chilli flakes
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons of fish sauce
I tablespoon of water

Satay sauce

1/2 cup of chopped mixed nuts
1/2 can of coconut milk
1 table spoon of grassfed butter – I use kerrygold or use coconut oil
1 teaspoon of dried chilli flakes
2 tomatoes diced
3 cloves of garlic crushed
50g shallots finely diced
4 tablespoons of kecap manis (not paleo) you can use coconut aminos instead
Pinch of salt

Wooden skewers

1. Add all the contents for the chicken into a bowl and mix.

2. Place in the fridge to marinate for an hour.

3. Skewer the chicken and place in a preheated oven for 15 mins at 180′.

4. For the satay sauce. Gently fry off and brown the shallots and garlic in butter.

5. Add the chilli flakes and tomatoes and cook for a further 2 minutes.

6. Add the coconut milk, nuts and kecap manis and gently simmer for 5/6 minutes.

7. Season and you’re done. Easiest and nicest satay sauce you’ll ever eat. FACT.

Leave a Reply

