Paleo pie – walnut crusted pesto chicken pie with a twice baked butternut squash topping

Sorry I haven’t posted in the last few days the weather has been so nice I’ve completely lost my train of thought. My weekend consisted of running, coffee, running, training, running, eating, coffee, sleep, training, coffee. In that order with some sunbathing thrown in.

I made Juli Bauer’s sweet arse banana bread as well. I threw some blueberries on top because I could.

So,  something that disturbed me at the weekend… couples wearing his and hers matching clothing WTF.  THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. It’s wrong on all levels. Next time I see a culprit I’ll take a pic. I hope that’s not illegal. Please don’t shop me to the cops.

This week I brought a whole new load of training gear. I literally look like Reebok threw up on me. I still need to buy my Oly lifters I’m just stuck on what colour to have. Decisions.

My Brother and his girlfriend Charlotte came over for dinner yesterday and I cooked them this pie. Joe forgot to mention that Charlotte doesn’t like nuts or pesto, so this was the perfect choice!! bloody boys. She also doesn’t like fruit. Guess what I made for pudding. Yep, you’ve guessed it strawberry and raspberry crumble (I’ll post this recipe later this week). She was to polite to say she didn’t like it or I gave her too much beer to care.

Has anyone else been doing the 30 day squat challenge? I’m on day 4 and quite enjoying it. I’m now at 70 reps. I’ve been front squating at 50kgs which I’ll have to drop the weight soon. I’m hoping for a pert butt for summer.

Walnut crusted pesto chicken pie with a twice baked butternut squash topping #whatafuckingmouthful

Makes 2 x 15cm diameter pies – 8 servings

Time: I have no idea. I was drinking beer while making this and talking to my brother about his trip to Amsterdam – that boy is unreal.

Crust:

2 1/2 cups of walnuts
1/4 cup of coconut flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
pinch of salt
40g grass fed butter

Chicken filling:

4 chicken breasts diced fairly small
200g basil
1 juice of a large lemon
3 massive gulgs of olive oil
4 cloves of garlic
1/2 cup of almonds
1 green chilli – optional. I like the heat

Butternut squash topping:

1 large butternut squash diced
1 teaspoon of dried chilli flakes
3 tablespoons of coconut oil
3 cloves of garlic (keep the skin on)

Lets make a pie…

1. You’ll need to bake the butternut squash for a good 30/40 mins at 180′. Add everything to a baking tray and keep the garlic in their coats. This we’ll keep them sweet.

2. On to the crust. Add everything into a blender. I didn’t blend for too long as I wanted to keep some crunch.

3. Pat down into your two tins evenly. Don’t make the crust too thick as it will taste dry as. Anyone done the cinnamon challenge? No, well if you make your crust too thick it will look like this

4. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes until golden and then leave to cool.

5. For the pesto throw everything into a blender – you might have to add more oil to get a good consistency. Remember to season.

6. Add the chicken, give it a stir and coat it well.

7. Add to the tins and bake for ten mins.

8. Take the butternut squash out of the oven. Get the cloves of garlic and squeeze it out of their jackets into a pot. Add the squash and handblend. Again I don’t mind if it’s slightly lumpy.

9. Put this on top of the pie and bake for a further 10 mins.

10. Shut yah pie hole and eat.

Leave a Reply

