So when do you eat porridge?

Image

I eat it for breakfast bro! just without oats. My PT Harry and owner of the best gym in the world Raw Performance inspired this post by his cheeky comment above. I might be a little bias but the people that go to Raw are some of the nicest, hard working people around. Take Naomi who I often train with, she’s a machine, she never gives up and she always shares amazing paleo recipes with me. She also loves Starbucks a big win. Even though I want to start taking crossfit seriously I don’t see myself moving to a box, I wouldn’t go to any other gym.

Boxes are cold and I prefer training with no clothes. Seriously. And I’ve been put off by a stinky beaver of a coach. She was a knob. I’m beating her in the crossfit games so I’m slightly over the fact she thought I was weak – I’m not, I’m bitter.

So this long weekend has been so good. I’ve eaten so much food. More than normal which is stupid amounts. My friends at work are always shocked by the volume of food I consume. I eat about 8 small meals a day. If not, I feel faint, lose concentration (this is already a mission at work as I get bored really easily) I then get grumpy. I’m already super assertive at work and normally pissed off. So me without food is a bad combo. Any way this porridge normally puts me on a good footing.

This recipe serves two, cos life’s for sharing. I’m in a bloody good mood today. Talk to me at 7pm post cocktails at the Hermitage and with work looming over me again it will be a different story.

Berry and banana porridge

Serves two

Takes about 5 mins to make

Ingredients:
2 heaped tablespoons of milled linseed – I buy this from Aldi as it costs £2 compared to £8 from a health food shop. I like the blueberry and sesame seed version.
1 heaped tablespoon of chia seeds
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
Some nuts, I used about 8 almonds and 8 cashews as I had them left over
Half a can of coconut milk
6 strawberries
1 banana

Note: normally I use a handful of frozen berries and make the night before. It expands over night and might even make 3 servings. In the morning I’ll add the banana. Today I made straight away and ate cold, I was even to lazy to heat it up!

1. Add your linseed, chia seeds, cinnamon, nuts and coconut milk into a bowl and mix. Make sure you shake your coconut milk up so you don’t just get the water.

2. Dice your banana and strawberries up into cubes. I put 3/4 in with the mixture and add the rest after heating.

3. Throw in the microwave for about 40 secs or eat cold.

4. Add the rest of the banana and strawberry as a garnish – fancy stuff.

5. Eat!!! better than porridge any day.

Leave a comment